Creative writing XII: ideas in a box

Hey pixels!! This is the last post about creative writing. Is sad but this post series is coming to an end…. I’ve shared with you all my new knowledge, I hope that it has been useful.

thought-catalog-501661-unsplash

Today’s post is about how to keep writing. How to keep your ideas in a safe place. It’s easy to forget them: you have a good idea but you don’t write about it, so you forget it. I have my own method to avoid that. Is so simple!!

I write my ideas, a good sentence or a quote, something that inspire me, in a piece of paper. I store the papers in a box. So, if someday I don’t know what to write or I need some inspiration I can open the box and read the papers. This works great as a writing exercise: choose one of the papers and start writing a little story based on the idea that’s written there.

It can be based in a conversation you’ve had, on a movie you’ve seen (but don’t copy), on something you’ve read on the newspaper…. The sources of inspiration are endless. You just need some paper, the box and a pen. Why not??

Do you like this idea, my happy pixels? Where do you keep your ideas? Do you use a similar method? Please, let us know in the comments below.

4 comments

  1. I love the idea of using an actual box. Then you can really see your ideas filling it up and adding up. ๐Ÿ™‚ This was such a great series of posts, so thank you again for sharing all your wonderful writing tips and advice with all of us. โค

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment