Pastéis de Belém

Hey pixels, guess where I was exactly one year ago? Exactly, I was in Lisbon with my familiy. And it was the moment where I discovered the existence of this awesome custard cakes (I ate a lot of them during the week I spend there).
And I visited a lot of places too!! I love Lisbon, it’s a really beautiful city and I met there a lot of nice people. It’s really difficult to choose which was my favourite place, so I share with you a couple of the photos I took there. I hope you like them 🙂
I’m a bit obsessed about taking photos, as you may know… 😉
CIMG0204CIMG0014
Now it’s been a whole year since I ate my last Pastéis de Belém, and I really miss them a lot, they are delicious!! So I’m glad to anounce to all of you, my dear pixels, I’ve tried to replicate them at home!!
CIMG0027 CIMG0348
I don’t know what a Portuguese person would think about my try, but at home they’ve been succesful (this means they’ve disappeared into our stomachs in less than 5′). lol I hope you love them too!!
CIMG0121 CIMG0084
Actually this is not the original recipe, this is a secret… But I think the result is pretty similar…
CIMG0380 CIMG0128
Ingredients (makes 12 units):
  • 1 whole egg + 2 egg yolks
  • 115g sugar
  • 2 tablespoons cornflour
  • 200ml cream
  • 200ml whole milk
  • 1 sheet of puff pastry
  • Decoration: cinnamon and/or icing sugar
Directions:
  1. Whisk together the egg and egg yolks, sugar and cornflour in a saucepan until combined. Gradually whisk in the cream and milk until smooth.
  2. Place the pan over a medium heat and cook, stirring constantly until the mixture thickens and comes to the boil.
  3. Remove the saucepan from the heat. Transfer the now-custard into a bowl to allow cooling. Cover the surface of the custard with cling film in order to prevent a skin forming.
  4. Preheat the oven to 200C, and lightly grease 12 cupcake molds
  5. Roll up the pastry tightly from the short end, and cut the pastry log into 12 rounds of the same size.
  6. Form the pastry rounds into the molds, and then spoon the custard into pastry cases.
  7. Bake for 20 minutes, or until the pastry and custard are golden. The authentic look is to see the top of the custard blackened in places!
  8. Wait 5′ before unmolding the cakes.
  9. Dust with cinnamon and/or icing sugar for serving.

Have you ever tried to replicate an international recipe you have discovered during a trip to another country? Which recipe? How was your version? Please, let me know in the comments below…

Leave a comment