S’mores cake

Hey pixels!!  I just realized that today’s it’s S’mores National Day, and I wanted to share with you this s’mores recipes I did some days ago!! Enjoy it, my happy pixels!! And have a nice day!! (Are you eating s’mores today??)

I’m going to a picnic today! This evening we’re going to have a picnic near the beach. A picnic at night is always fun. There is an area with tables and benches that you can use, so you just have to prepare some good food and go there.

S'mores cake

 

In my town it’s forbidden to make campfires, so a more traditional way to eat s’mores is complicated… But, when I found that s’mores cakes do exist, I couldn’t be happier. I love making cakes, so I ran to the supermarket to buy some ingredients (I didn’t had heavy cream, guilty) and I went back home to make the cake.

I’m bringing my cake to the picnic tonight. I hope that everyone will enjoy it!! It’s been my first time making this cake. But not going to this kind of picnic. Temperatures are so high lately that being near the sea, feeling a nice breeze and the smell of the sea salt is incredibly awesome. I usually go with my family. We eat and chat about our lifes and plans. I love it!!

S'mores cake piece

Ingredients:

Crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups graham cracker crumbs
  • 5-6 tablespoons butter

Chocolate dough:

  • 1 1/8 cups all purpose flour
  • 1/4 cup dark cocoa powder
  • 1 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 3/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1/2 cup + 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup butter, melted

for topping:

  • 3 egg whites
  • 90g sugar

Directions:

Preheat oven to 180ºC.

Melt butter and mix in graham crumbs. Mix until moistened. Spray a round mold with non-stick spray and press graham crust into it.

In a bowl, whisk egg and sugar until smooth and no lumps remain. Add milk, cream, butter and vanilla, and mix until combined. Sift dry ingredients together and add to wet mixture. Mix until batter is smooth. Add to the mold. Place mold in a baking dish and add about 1 1/2 cups of water to the bottom. Bake for 30′, or until cake is set.

While baking the cake, make the meringue. Pour it all over your baked cake. Heat the broiler on your oven and watching carefully, brown meringue for about 2-3′. Do not take your eyes off the cake! Serve immediately.

Do you like s’mores, my happy pixels? How do you eat them?  Do you go camping? Picnics? Anyone? I hope you’re having a wonderful Summer!! Please, feel free to leave a comment.

4 thoughts on “S’mores cake

Leave a Reply

