Meatless Monday: Zucchini & Cherry Tomatos Quiche

Hey pixels!! It’s been a long time since our last quiche. Last week I went to a barbeque and someone brought a zucchini quiche. I thought it was yummy and I asked for the recipe. So, here it is, my happy pixels!! Now I want to share it with you!!

Zucchini quiche

Zucchinis have a wonderful flavour, and combined with a bit of cheese, eggs and cream they just even yummier. I use a soy based cream for this kind of  recipes, because I love how it tastes, and because it’s a bit healthier than the dairy cream.

zucchini quiche 2

The original recipe was crustless, but I add a crust to mine. I like the contrast of a crispy crust and the tenderness of the quiche. The same way I add some cherry tomatos to the original recipe. I did not bake mine, but you can bake them perfectly.

Ingredients:

  • 1 store bought quiche crust
  • 1 large zucchini, sliced
  • 200ml soy cream
  • 3 eggs
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • 100gr cup grated cheese (use your favourite one)
  • 6-7 cherry tomatos, halved

Directions:

Preheat oven to 180⁰C.  Grease a 20cm round mold. Pour crust and make a few hole using a fork. Set aside.

Put zucchini, soy cream, eggs, flour and cheese into a bowl and mix to combine.

Pour into the mold.

Bake for 40-45′, or until set and golden brown. It will be ready when a fork comes out clean.

Serve in pieces with the halved cherry tomatos on top. I prefer to eat the tomatos raw, but you can bake them, too.

Note: it’s better if you eat all the quiche the same day.

Do you like quiches, my happy pixels? Do you have a favourite one? Please, let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

