The Book Lover’s Tag

Hey pixels!! My lovely friend Esmé, from Cook and Enjoy Recipes, has nominated me to my first Book Lover’s Tag. Thank you so much, Esmé!! Please, visit her blog, because it’s amazing!

thrift store

The Questions:

Do you have a specific place for reading?

No, I can read almost anywhere. My room, my patio, the beach, a café, the library, a plane… all of them are good places to read. I always bring a book with me, you don’t know when you’ll have this boring moment when you miss your book…

Bookmarks or random pieces of paper?

Bookmarks. Always. I have a collection of them… But if you don’t like the typical bookmark you can always DIY your own.

Can you just stop anywhere or must it be at the end of the chapter?

I can stop anywhere. Before it had to be at the end of the chapter, but this is not always possible. You can’t finish reading a chapter when you’re waiting for your turn at the dentist or when you’re travelling and the plane lands… It used to be hard not being able to finish a chapter, but now I’m used to it.

Do you eat or dring while reading?

No, just from time to time. Most of the books I read are from the library, so I don’t want to spoil them. Because they are not mine. But if the book is mine I do the same; of course I don’t want to ruin my own books.

Music or TV while reading?

Not music, but I can read with the TV on. I had to get used to it when I was at college, because I was living with more people, and they watched TV at night. I was the only one reading. This was a big surprise for me: most of the people I met there did not enjoy reading. I thought that everyone who went to college enjoyed reading…

One book at a time or several?

One. I think it’s better to really enjoy every book, to live its story. Just when I finish one, I start the next one. I don’t like to read more than one book at the same time, because I don’t enjoy them that much. It’s more important having fun reading than to read lots of books. Quality over quantity.

Do you prefer to read at home or elsewhere?

Usually I prefer to read at home (more privacy, it’s quiet), but as I said before, I can read almost anywhere. Sometimes I go to the beach, I swim a bit and I read a lot.

Read out loudly or silently?

Silently. I find it’s a bit weird to read loudly if no one is listening to you, and I’m always alone while reading. At home we never have read aloud.

Do you read ahead or skip pages?

I don’t want to do it, I try to avoid it, but sometimes I do it…. I read ahead if I want to know how something will continue later, o I skip pages if I find a chapter boring…. I’m just a human being…

Breaking the spine or keeping it like new?

Like new. I take care of all the books I read. Most of them are not mine (library ones), so I have to be careful with them.

Do you write in your books?

Sometimes I underline some sentences. Using a pencil, of course, even if I can keep the book after reading it. If it’s not my book I used to copy my favourite sentences somewhere, to remind them. I hope I’m not the only one doing it…

My nominees:

Everyone who is reading this post!!! Keep spreading your love for books!! Please, tag me if you answer the questions, I would like to read your answers!!

Thanks for reading! Lots of love,

Sílvia

12 thoughts on “The Book Lover’s Tag

  1. When someone tells me they don’t like to read I judge them a bit 😂 I actually had a colleague at my literature classes and she once admitted to me that she didn’t like to read and had never read a full book. Why choosing a degree that focuses mainly on literature? No idea.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do the same, I’ve heard people saying that they hadn’t read a book in their lifes… How can you live without reading, I think? But the worst is that they feel good when the say it… I couldn’t live without books… 😦

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do the same. I think this kind of people are dumb… And my parents think I’m the crazy if I carry a 600 page book in my handbag, always. But it’s fine for me, you can always have a boring moment when you miss your book… 😉

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Nope. No way. A book is good for a boring moment, to read while on the bus or train and I might need to write something down at any moment. I don’t like to write things on my phone

        Liked by 1 person

  2. This was a delightful post to read! As a former library assistant, thank you so much for taking such good care of the books you borrow! You wouldn’t believe how some borrowers return the books; it always made me so sad. So again, THANK YOU! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

