Macarrons (no, it’s not a spelling mistake)

Hey pixels!! Yes, the post title is well written. This is not the French macaron recipe, it’s all about macarrons. It’s a recipe I’ve learned from my grandmother, they are yummy and easier to make than macarons. Actually it takes just 3 ingredients and 15′, including baking time!!

macarrons

What do you think now?? This amazing anised flavoured sweets are wonderful. Flower shaped, they are so pretty. My ย grandmother has the traditional flower shaped mold. You can ย see in the pictures below.

But, of course, any mold it’s ok. I guess the taste is more important than the shape. ๐Ÿ˜‰

macarrons mold

Not many people outside my island know about this recipe. So I wanted to share it with you, my happy pixels. It’s an ancient recipe, I don’t know about its origin, but itย has many years. It’s traditional to make macarrons this days, because of the Summer solstice.

macarrons 2

Usually I buy some macarrons at a cake shop, but this year I’ve decided to learn the recipe. I can’t believe how easy it’s to make them. I’m never buying macarrons again, my happy pixels: I’m making them!!

Ingredients (makes about 25 medium units):

  • 1 small egg white
  • 400g powdered sugar
  • 1-2 drops anise essence (don’t use more than 2 drops, this essence has a strong flavour)

Directions:

Just mix all the ingredients together in a bowl until incorporated. It should look like white fondant, but softer.

Roll out the dough. Cut into shapes with the cookie cutter of your choice. Place on the baking sheets 1cm apart. Itโ€™s better if you cover your baking sheets with parchment paper. Do this step as quick as you can, because dough hardens so fast, and it’s difficult to work with when it’s hard.

uncooked macarrons

Preheat oven at 150ยบC. After 10-12′, start baking. Macarrons are ready in just a few minutes, so don’t stop watching them. Don’t overcook. Mine were ready in just 3’48”.

It’s a crispy sweet, they are not tender. But the taste and scent are amazing. You won’t regret making them. I love macarrons!

Did you know about this sweet, my happy pixels? Are you going to make macarrons? Please, let me know if you do it!! Feel free to leave a comment if you know about any similar recipe! Thank you, my friends!

11 thoughts on “Macarrons (no, it’s not a spelling mistake)

Leave a Reply

