Red tea cake

Hey pixels!! I love tea as much as I love coffee, so when I found this tea cake I was so happy. I’ve just made my first one, and I’m going to eat a piece now. With, guess what? Yes, a cup of tea!! Too much tea?? I don’t think so…

red tea cake

It’s been a while since my last post. I’m sorry, my happy pixels… I needed to take some kind of Internet detox. I spent a lot of time using my computer, my smartphone… so last week I reduced this time. Just a bit using my smartphone, but I did not use my computer. You know, it was easy to take this break: giro d’Italia. I’m so happy with Dumoulin’s victory.

red tea cake 2

I don’t know if you make cakes like this one. I think it’s so yummy that I had to share the recipe with you!! I’m back!! I have a couple of new ideas for the next weeks, so don’t worry, there will be plenty of new posts here!!

red tea cake 3

Sorry for talking about everything but the recipe… Here it is!!

Ingredients:

  • 240ml warm water
  • 1 bag red tea (feel free to use your favourite kind of tea)
  • 200g flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 150g sugar
  • 55g unsalted butter, cold
  • 1 egg
  • 2 tablespoons honey

red tea cake 4

Directions:

Preheat oven at 180ΒΊ.

Make some red tea using the tea bag and warm water; set aside.

In a bowl, mix dry ingredients. Add butter, cubed, and mix well.

Add wet ingredients; keep mixing using a spatula.

Pour dough in a greased mold. Bake for about 35′.

Do you make cakes using tea or coffee, my happy pixels? Are you going to make this one? Please, let me know in the comments below.

10 thoughts on “Red tea cake

Leave a Reply

