Onion rings

Hey pixels!! I’m sure that you love onion rings as much as I do!! Yummy and crispy onion rings. Today my lunch has consisted in a bunch of onion rings and a cheese pizza. Not so healthy, I know….

onion rings

I love homemade onion rings. You know all the ingredients you’re using are fresh and natural, and that makes them better. Don’t worry about the job, they’re ready in just 15′. Yes, it’s a little more job, but the effort is worth. At least from time to time.

onion rings 2

Ingredients:

  • 1 large white onion, peeled and sliced (my onion was so big that I cut every slice in two halves)
  • 1 egg
  • 1 cup + 1 1/2 tablespoons flour
  • 1 cup breadcrumbs
  • 1/2 cup whole milk
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons fresh parsley, choopped
  • vegetable oil, for frying

Directions:

onion rings 3

In a bowl, beat egg, milk and 1 1/2 tablespoons flour. Add salt. Soak onion slices into this mixture.

Pour the rest of the flour on a dish, and breacrumbs in a second  one. Coat onion slices in flour and then, in breadcrumbs. For a nice taste, mix parsley with the breacrumbs. It will be a cute addition.

Repeat all the coating process: egg, flour, breadcrumbs.

Fry in hot vegetable oil. I fried mine for about 4-6′, or until golden and crispy. Use a papel towel to remove the excess of oil.

Serve with some kind of sauce: tomato or vegan maio. Or just as an appetizer, with a pizza, as I did today. Without sauce.

Do you like onion rings, my happ pixels? Do you make them at home? Are you going to try this recipe? Please, let me know in the comments below.

3 thoughts on “Onion rings”

Leave a Reply

