Eurovision Party 2017

Hey pixels!! Do you know what happens today? Which great event? Yes, you guessed it right: Eurovision!!! The best song contest ever!! Yes!!!!!!!!! Happiness is that, my happy pixels: to eat yummy food while watching it. Actually today I have even more happiness: a cycling stage, making all the food and Eurovision. Today is going to be a great day!!

japanese cotton cheesecake

Like every year, I organize a small party. That means, above all, food. I see the song contest with my cousin and my grandmother. I cook and we eat while watching the contest. As an introvert person, this is one of my favourite kinds of party.

japanese cotton cheesecake 2

Today’s menu include a pizza and a Japanese Cotton Cheesecake. To get inspiration for the pizza recipe, I checked our pizza recipes list (to make a giant one). The contest starts at 21pm, which is my current time for dinner. Perfect!!

japanese cotton cheesecake 3

It’s my second time making this cake, but today I’ve doubled the original recipe amounts because I wanted a bigger cake. I love cheesecakes, and this recipes is awesome. I don’t know if you’ve tried it, but if the answer is no, please, give it a chance. You’ll love it!!

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 240g cream cheese
  • 240g white chocolate

Directions:

Preheat oven at 170ºC

Melt chocolate in a double boiler or using the microwave.

Whip egg whites until soft peaks form (meringue).

Add cream cheese to the melted chocolate and mix well. When it’s smooth, add egg yolks and mix.

japanese cotton cheesecake 4

The last thing is to add the meringue to the chocolate, yolks and cheese mixture. 1/3 at a time, make sure it’s well incorporated.

Grease a round 20cm mold. You can use greased parchment paper all over the mold, but I just used paper on the bottom and greased sides with butter.

Pour the batter into the mold. Drop the mold lightly on the counter to eliminate air bubbles that could remain on your batter.

Place mold in your baking sheet; add some hot water to the baking sheet, like if it was a double boiler.

Bake:

  • 15′ at 170ºC
  • 15′ at 160ºC
  • stop the oven and bake with the remaining heat for 15′

Allow to cool completely before unmolding. Dust with powdered sugar if you want. Mine has cracked a bit because it was still warm when I unmolded it. I know, my happy pixels…. I was in a hurry: I had to take pictures and publish this post before going to my granmother’s house in time for Eurovision…. 😉

Do you watch Eurovision, my happy pixels? Do you make something special while watching it? Are you going to make this cake? Please, let me know in the comments below.

36 thoughts on “Eurovision Party 2017

  1. It’s so amazing that you throw a little Eurovision party. That cheesecake looks so delicious and it’s SUPER easy!! I watch it 🙂 Rui and I watched it together while having some snacks (olives, nachos, etc). I’m especially happy because Portugal won this year!!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you, my happy pixel!! And congratulations!! I can’t remember when was the last Spanish victory…. Your song was amazing!! And the best part was eating and watching the contest with my family. It was a great night!! 😉

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

