Formatjades de carn (a last Easter recipe)

Hey pixels!! Today I’m breaking some rules here, at my blog. The first one is that, for the first time, I’m publishing a recipe that contains meat. Sorry, vegetarians and vegans!

img_20170415_165023.jpg

And, of course, I’m talking about Easter after Easter. I mean, we make this pastries before Easter, but I’m publishing the recipe today. Sorry for everything, my happy pixels. Actually, if you’re interested, you can make this savoury pastries all year, not just for Easter.

IMG_20170415_165043

Really, I don’t know how to make this recipe vegetarian. But if someones finds out how, please, let me know. I want to share it with you just because we make them every year; we meet at my grandma’s house to cook this savoury pastries. Like a kind of tradition, you know. It’s that what I want to share: how beautiful is to cook and spend time with your loved ones. It can be any recipe, of course.

IMG_20170415_165013

Ingredients:

Dough:

  • 40g yeast
  • 1200g flour
  • 350g pork lard
  • 50ml sunflower oil
  • 1 1/2 cups water

Filling:

  • 1200 lamb meat, cubed
  • 28g salt
  • 1/2 lemon juice
  • saffron, to taste

Directions:

The first step is to make the dough. Just mix all the ingredients and kead for a long time. It has to be consistent and elastic. Let it rise: it takes 2-3 hours.

IMG_20170415_165028

Mix filling ingredients.

To know how to mount the pastries, you can watch this video. This orange thing we put inside the pastries is called sobrassada. It’s a kind of sausage, but if you can’t find it, just skip this step. It will be ok.

Bake them at 160ºC for one hour.

Do you make any traditional recipe for Easter, my happy pixels? Do you cook with your family? Please, let me know in the comments below.

Leave a Reply

