Easter Bread

Hey pixels!! This Sunday is Easter!! Are you thinking about a nice Easter brunch? Easter eggs? Bunnies? I am, too!! So, today I’ve made another Easter recipe, because I just can’t wait until Sunday!!

easter bread

 

I want to learn how to make different kinds of bread this Spring. I find making bread so exciting! This is the first one, and it’s a great one!  A friend gave me the recipe, and I decide to make it. Besides the time (two hours rising), it’s easy and funny to make this bread.

easter bread 2

 

 

I’ve made just one loaf, to try the recipe for the first time, but the next time, I’m making two. I’m in love with this bread. Butter and blueberry jam on top of your bread slice: heaven.

easter bread 3

 

Ingredients (make 2 loafes):

  • 1 cup milk
  • 10 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 4 1/2 teaspoons yeast
  • 3/4 cup hot water
  • 5 1/2 cups flour
  • 3 egg yolks
  • 2 eggs

Directions:

Heat milk, butter, sugar and salt on the stovetop over medium heat. Stir occasionally and remove from heat once butter has melted (about 5′). Do not let boil.

Prepare the yeast by mixing it with the hot water. Let sit for 5′ until bubbly. If you do it before heating the milk mixture, it will be ready at the same time, so you can continue working.

Add yeast mixture and 2 cups flour to a large mixing bowl. When combined, add in milk mixture, eggs and remaining flour.

Knead for 5-10′ until smooth and elastic. Add more flour if needed. Let rise in bowl for 1 hour.

Separate into 2 loaves and let rise for another hour. I used a bread silicone mould.

Preheat oven to 195ºC. Bake for 25-30′ or until browned. But not burned, it has to be soft. Check at minute 23-25, mine was almost ready.

 Do you make any kind of sweet or savoury bread for Easter, my happy pixels? Do you celebrate Easter with a family brunch? Any special recipe? Please, let me know in the comments below.
4 thoughts on “Easter Bread”

  1. It looks great! I think we are doing cheese blintzes with berries and apple sausage for brunch. I am making a carrot cake too 🙂 I have been wanting to start baking Easter recipes so I can blog them, but I’m afraid I will be left too full of sweets come Sunday to enjoy what I make then, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks, my happy pixel!! I was afraid of the same, being too full of sweets…. I wanted to make more before Easter, but no… too many sweet food. My next Easter recipe will be a savory one… 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

