2 ingredients chocolate cake

Hey pixels!! Today’s cake it’s flourless and healthy. Just eggs and chocolate. A simple but wonderful cake that everyone will enjoy. I think it’s a Japanese recipe. I’ve made it for my parents. Today they are coming back from a trip; after a whole week I wanted to surprise them with something sweet. This is my way to say “Welcome”. πŸ˜‰ I hope they will enjoy it!!

It has no sugar, so it’s healthier than other chocolate cakes. But, don’t worry, my happy pixels: it’s sweet enough. You won’t notice there is no sugar in your cake.

IMG_20170322_091306

And we don’t use flour. Actually I’m not sure if it’s gluten free or not. There is gluten in eggs or chocolate? No idea, my happy pixels…. Probably not in eggs, but it depends on the kind of chocolate you’re using…. Check it if you want to make this cake and you can’t eat gluten…

2 ingredients chocolate cake 2

I’ve doubled the ingredients amounts, but baking time is the same. I wanted a bigger cake!!! It was ready in 30′. The recipe I found said 30-40′ baking time; mine was ready in just 30′, so check it, please. Every oven is different, so baking times are just a good guide.

The result is yummy. Tender and soft, I love this cake. I hope you’ll love it, too!!

2 ingredients chocolate cake 4

Ingredients:

  • 6 eggs, separated
  • 330g chocolate (mine is 55% cocoa)

Directions:

Preheat oven at 170ΒΊC

Melt chocolate using a microwave or a double boiler.

Allow chocolate to cool. While, beat egg whites until soft peaks form (meringue). Set aside.

Add egg yolks to melted chocolate. Stir until combined.

2 ingredients chocolate cake 1

In 3 times, add meringue to chocolate mixture. Use Β a spatula to combine well all the ingredients together.

Pour mixture in a greased round mold. Mine is 20cm diameter.

Bake for 30-40′. (Mine was ready in just 30′, probably yours will be ready, too).

Allow to cool completely before unmolding. Sprinkle powdered sugar on top if you want. Maybe will be even better if you serve it with some fresh fruit. Strawberries, for example.

Have you ever tried this kind of cake? Are you going to make one? Please, let me know in the comments below.

Β 

21 thoughts on “2 ingredients chocolate cake

Leave a Reply

