Mashed potatos + Vegan mushroom gravy

Hey pixels!! This week is Thanksgiving! We don’t celebrate Thanksgiving in Spain, but I wanted to try to cook a meat free version of it. I was curious about how this kind of recipes are, so this year I’ve made my own menu! I hope you like it, my happy pixels!

Today, as a starter, I’m introducing to you my mashed potatos and my gravy. All vegan, of course. Tomorrow:  main course and dessert. So, keep in touch, my happy pixels!! More tasteful recipes are coming…

vegan-gravy-1

Ingredients:

Gravy

  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 250g mushrooms, sliced
  • 1 cup vegetable broth
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried oregano
  • 1/2 teaspoon dried thyme
  • 2 tablespoons cornstarch + 3 tablespoons water
  • 1 tablespoon vegan butter

vegan-gravy-2

Mashed potatos

  • 5-6 potatos, peeled and halved
  • olive oil
  • salt, fresh parsley

Directions:

Gravy
In a skillet over medium heat, saute the onion for 1′
Add mushrooms, salt, and herbs. Saute for 8-10′
Add broth, bring to a boil, and cook for 10′
In a small bowl, whisk together cornstarch and water. Add to skillet and stir.
Return to a boil, reduce heat to low and simmer 2-3′ until slightly thickened.
Turn off heat and stir in butter until melted. Salt/pepper to taste if needed.

vegan-gravy-3

Mashed potatos

Boil potatos until tender, about 30-40′

Mash them; add the other ingredients and mix until soft and tender.

How do you celebrate Thanksgiving? Are you going to make this recipes? If you do so, you can Instagram a picture!! Use the hashtag #thehappiestpixel.

Note: here is a link to a gravy guide. It’s made by my friend Olivia Rose, from My King Cook.

9 thoughts on “Mashed potatos + Vegan mushroom gravy

Leave a Reply

