Broccoli cheese soup

Hey pixels!! This is my first Autumn soup this year!! I love soups, and it’s my first time making this recipe. It will be part of my lunch!!

I’m not sure if it’s the healthiest soup option, but it’s warm and comfy, perfect for an Autumn day.

broccoli-soup-1

Here, temperatures are still a bit high, but I’m in the mood for a soup… I love soups. I think they are the perfect starter for a meal.

broccoli-soup-2

Do you know what’s better? Enjoying a nice soup in a nice bowl. Remember this one? It was our DIY 28, how to decorate your mug or bowl!!

So, while I’m still waiting for real Autumn weather (november), I’m improving my soup maker skills. There are a lot of recipes I’ve never tried yet, so I have a list of them to make here with you, my happy pixels. Trust me, more soups are coming. 😉

Note: keep in touch to read my recipe for this wonderful omelette. It’s coming up in two days!!

Ingredients (serve 2):

  • 1/2 tablespoon + 2 tablespoons unsalted butter, divided
  • 1/2 sweet yellow onion, diced small
  • 1 clove garlic, minced finely
  • 1/8 cup flour
  • 2 cups vegetable stock
  • 1/4 cup soy cream
  • 1 cup broccoli florets, diced into small pieces
  • 2 medium carrots, sliced into very thin rounds
  • about 1/2 cup grated cheese (I use a mix of gouda and emmental); use more or less depending on how much you love cheese
  • salt and black pepper to taste

broccoli-soup-3

 

Directions:

  1. In a small saucepan, add 1/2 tablespoon butter, the diced onion, and sauté   over medium heat until the onion is translucent and barely browned, about 4′. Stir intermittently.
  2. Add the garlic and cook about 30”, stirring constantly so it doesn’t burn. Remove from heat and set aside.
  3. Using the same pot add 2 tablespoons butter, flour, and cook over medium heat for about 2-3′ minutes, whisking constantly, until flour is thickened. You are making a roux and it’s very important the mixture is thick or soup will never thicken properly later.
  4. Slowly add the vegetable stock, whisking constantly.
  5. Slowly add the soy cream, whisking constantly.
  6. Allow mixture to simmer over low heat for about 12-15′, or until it has reduced and thickened some. Whisk intermittently to re-incorporate the ‘skin’ that inevitably forms, this is normal.
  7. While mixture is simmering, chop the broccoli and carrots. After simmering, add the broccoli, carrots, and the onion and garlic you previously set aside.
  8. Add the salt, pepper. Stir to combine.
  9. Allow soup to simmer over low heat for about 30-35′. Whisk intermittently to re-incorporate the ‘skin’ that inevitably forms, this is normal.
  10.  After simmering, add most of the cheese, reserving a small amount for garnishing bowls. Stir in the cheese until melted and incorporated fully, less than 1′.
  11. Transfer soup to bowls, garnish with reserved cheese, and serve immediately. You can keep your soup in the fridge for 2-3 days. Use your microwave to heat it before eating.

Do you make your own soups at home, my happy pixels? Are you going to make this one? Please, let me know in the comments below.

1 thought on “Broccoli cheese soup”

Leave a Reply

