DIY 35: how to add pockets to a skirt

Hey pixels!! Today’s DIY is about fashion. How to make your skirt look as a new one. Actually my skirt was new, I bought a cheap skirt just to make this DIY, but you can use a skirt that you already have at home. Give it a new  life.

skirt 1

I used faux leather to make the pockets, but you can use the material you prefer. I had two different colours, so I made a pocket of each one, I put the pockets next to the skirt and I choose the one that matched better with my skirt. In my case, I prefered the darkest tone.

It’s an easy DIY. It does not need advanced sewing skills, and you can sew it by hand if you don’t have a sewing machine. In this case, just use a material softer than faux leather.

You’ll need:

  • a skirt
  • faux leather (or any other material, in a colour that matches your skirt)
  • sewing machine
  • scissors, pen or chalk, paper

Directions:

Cut out two identical pockets. I draw the shape on a paper, I cut it and I used it as template. Make the shape you want; in my case, I prefered a traditional shape.

skirt 2

Choose placement on your skirt for the pockets and mark with a pen or chalk. Sew pockets on this place.

Wear your new skirt!!

Do you update your clothes? Are you going to make this DIY? If you do so, why not instagram a picture of your own skirt? Use the hashtag #thehappiestpixel.

skirt 3

Material:

  • falda
  • piel falsa, en un color que combine bien con la falda
  • máquina de coser
  • tijeras, lápiz o tiza, papel

Instrucciones:

Corta dos bolsillos iguales. Yo dibujé la forma en una hoja de papel, la corté y la usé como molde. Haced la forma que queráis; yo me decanté por esta, más tradicional.

Elegid donde queréis poner los bolsillos, marcad el lugar con lápiz o tiza y cosed los bolsillos donde hayáis marcado.

¡¡Lucid vuestra nueva falda!!

¿Personalizais vuestra ropa en casa, mis pixels? ¿Vais a hacer esta manualidad? Si hacéis una foto de vuestra versión, ¿por que no colgarla en Instagram? Usad el hashtag #thehappiestpixel.

4 thoughts on “DIY 35: how to add pockets to a skirt”

Leave a Reply

