Marble cake / Pastel de mármol

Hey pixels, do you want a good cake recipe for breakfast?? I have one.

marble 3

I’ve loved marble cakes since I was a child. Can you believe this my first attempt to make one?? I can say now it has been easier than I thought… And the result, amazing…

The first time I saw the recipe I was 8-9 years old, too little to cook alone. My mum hates cooking, so she bought me one instead of making it. I loved it, but for some reason I kept the small book with the recipe, and now, I’ve used it. At least. I should say I’m happy to have kept this recipe book with me all this time 😉

Ingredients:

  • 10 tablespoons cocoa powder
  • optional: 1 teaspoon coffee grounds, mixed with a teaspoon water
  • 250g butter, at room temperature
  • 250g brown sugar
  • 5 eggs
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 250g flour

Directions:

Preheat oven at 180ºC.

Beat butter and sugar until well incorporated. Add the eggs, one at a time, beating all time. Add the flour and baking powder, stirring with a wooden spoon, until all the ingredients are well mixed.

Divide the dough into two bowls. If you want, weight it first, to be sure you have the same amount of dough in each bowl  (but this is optional; actually I did chocolate half a bit bigger than the other). Forget about one of the bowls. Add the coffee and cocoa powder to the second bowl; mix well.

Grease a round mold, using butter or olive oil. Pour the cocoa mix first; cover with plain mix. Mix using your spatula. This way, both flavours will mix a bit. Bake for 45′

Allow to cool to room temperature before unmolding.

What do you eat for breakfast? Do you like marble cakes? Please, let me know in the comments below.

marble 4

Ingredientes:

  • 10 cucharadas de cacao en polvo
  • opcional: 1 cucharadita de café soluble mezclada con 1 cucharadita de agua
  • 250g de mantequilla, a temperatura ambiente
  • 250g de azúcar moreno
  • 5 huevos
  • 1 cucharadita de levadura en polvo
  • 250g de harina

Instrucciones:

Precalentar el horno a 180ºC.

Batir la mantequilla con el azúcar hasta blanquearla. Añadir los huevos uno a uno, sin dejar de batir. Incorporar la harina y la levadura, removiendo con una cuchara de madera.

Dividir la masa en dos partes iguales. Si queréis, pesad la masa primero, para estar seguros de que hay la misma cantidad en cada bol. Añadid el café y el cacao en polvo a uno de los boles. Removed bien.

Engrasar un molde circular. Primero, verter la masa con chocolate. Después, la otra. Con la espátula, hacer una espiral en la superficie para que se mezclen ambas. Hornear durante unos 45′

Esperar a que el bizcocho esté a temperatura ambiente antes de desmoldar.

¿Qué coméis para desayunar, mis pixels? ¿Os gusta el pastel de mármol? ¿Nos dejáis un comentario?

 

1 thought on “Marble cake / Pastel de mármol”

Leave a Reply

