Chiacchiere

Hey pixels, today I bring you a recipe I learnt in my Italian class a couple of years ago.  Don’t think I speak Italian, please. It was a begginers level… 😉

chiacchiere 3

But, for Carnaval, we learnt this recipe. I was the only  who tried it at home, and I was succesful!! This is the version my teacher does, I supose there are more versions of the same recipe, as it happens always. But this is great, why don’t you try it??

My first attempt was two years ago, but today I was on the mood to make them again… and so I did!!! The result was great, the same as the first time.

It’s so easy, you will see. Here is the recipe.

Ingredients (makes about 35-40 units):

  • 50g butter
  • 6g baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 70g sugar
  • 500g flour
  • 3 eggs plus an extra yolk
  • 30g grappa
  • vegetable oil for frying
  • powder sugar to decorate

 

Directions:

Sift flour and baking powder together in a big bowl. Add sugar, beaten eggs and grappa. Mix well.

Add vanilla and butter. Continue mixing for 10′, until you have a consistent dough. If it’s needed, you can add 10/50g water. Move the dough to a flat surface; make a ball with the dough.

Cover it with plastic wrap. Wait 30′.

You can now divide the dough in two smaller parts and repeat the next step two times, if you think it is too big.

Roll out the dough into a thin rectangle. Using a knife or a pizza cutter, cut the dough into rectangles. On every rectangle, make one or two cuts on the middle. That will them easier to fry.

Fry the rectangles in vegetable oil. Don’t put a lot of them at the same time on the saucepan.

Allow them to cool before sprinkling the powder sugar on top.

You can keep them 2-3 days, but it’s better if you eat them the same day.

 

Do you celebrate Carnaval? Do you make any special recipe? Please, let me know in the comments below.

2 thoughts on “Chiacchiere

Leave a Reply

