Broccoli cake

Hey pixels, today I bring you a healthy recipe. It’s full of vitamins and flavour, and it’s perfect as a starter or as a side dish.

I discovered this wonderful cake a couple of weeks ago, when my aunt invited all the family members to have dinner at her house. She made this cake for me, because I couldn’t eat the rest of the main menu (meat).

CIMG0395

I found it delicious, so I asked her the recipe.

Today I did not know what to eat for dinner… but I had broccoli πŸ˜‰

CIMG0397

As you will see this cake it’s easy to make, and all the job is done in less than an hour (actually it takes about 40′). So it’s perfect when you feel too lazy to cook anything more complicated. Or you can make it the day before, keep it on the fridge and then, simply reheat it. My aunt said that’s ok. πŸ™‚

And now it’s time to share the cake recipe with you, my happy pixels!!! I hope you like it!!

CIMG0398

Ingredients:

  • 1 broccoli (medium size)
  • 1 onion (chopped)
  • 3 tablespoons flour
  • 400ml whole milk (or soy milk if you’re vegan)
  • 1 teaspoon tomato sauce
  • grated mozarella (again you can use a vegan version)
  • optional: 1 can vegan tuna (mine was about 80g)

 

Directions:

Preheat oven at 180ΒΊC.

Cut the broccoli in small pieces. Cook in the microwave for 5-6′

Cook the onion in olive oil for 5′. Add the flour and cook for 2′ more.

Pour the milk and the tomato sauce in the onion and flour mixture and cook, stirring constantly, until it thickens. Remove from heat.

Add the broccoli to the saucepan and mix. If you’re using the vegan tuna, add it here. (Note: if there is any kind of oil or liquid in the tuna can, you must remove it before adding the tuna to the mixture). Sprinkle the grated cheese on top.

Transfer the mixture to a mold. Bake the cake for 20-25′

 

Eat warm.

Do you share recipes with your friends or family?? Please, let me know in the comments below.

5 thoughts on “Broccoli cake

Leave a Reply

