Hot chocolate (the happiest one)

Hey pixels, today is really cold here. We have strong and freezing winds and a few degrees less than just a couple of days ago… I don’t mind, I like winter. It’s a great season, with a lot of cool things that can only really satisfy you when it’s cold outside. Like being at home under your favorite blanket, sipping a cup of hot chocolate while reading a book or watching a good movie on TV… Wow, that’s amazing!!! 😉

Yesterday I had all of this!! I’m a lucky person, I know it.

CIMG0380

But the best, of course, was eating the chocolate. Hot chocolate is my favorite way of eating chocolate, and this is the traditional recipe here, at home. We always have make it this way… It’s quite delicious!!!

And easy to prepare. It took about 30′ and a few ingredients. I’ve read a lot of complicated hot chocolate recipes, and I’ve tried a couple of them. They’re not really worth the extra effort, trust me!! This one is easier and the flavour is exactly the same.

If your’re vegan, I guess you could try to make it using soy milk. But I can’t promise anything about the result. I always use cow milk to make my chocolate, so I have no idea about how it tastes using a non dairy milk.

 

 

This sweet pastry is an ensiamada. It’s a store bought one, I don’t know even the recipe. But if you want to eat something with your chocolate, it could be anything sweet you have at home.

Ingredients:

  • 1000ml whole milk
  • 5-6 tablespoons sugar
  • 180g dark cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 tablespoons constarch

 

Directions:

In a big bowl, mix 250ml milk with sugar, cornstarch and cocoa powder. Stirr well until there are no lumps.

Heat the rest of the milk on a big saucepan. When it starts boiling, pour in the content of the bowl. Keep cooking on low heat, stirring constantly, until it thickens (about 10-15′).

Serve warm.

 

What’s your favorite hot chocolate recipe, my happy pixels? Or do you prefer a coffee or a tea when you’re cold? Please, let me know in the comments below.

8 thoughts on “Hot chocolate (the happiest one)”

Leave a Reply

