My DIY weekend project 14: NY resolutions

Hey pixels, we are in 2016!!! Happy New Year!!!!!!!!!

Do you have any resolution for the new year??? I do, and that’s why I know sometimes is difficult is to keep them… 😦

CIMG0315

I’m sorry I didn’t post a DIY weekend project last weekend, I was too busy getting ready for Christmas at home… Sorry.

But I’m here this week, and I  want to talk about all those happy resolutions we all take the first of January ( and most of time we’ve forgotten two weeks later). I know, there is always a reason to give up and forget your own resolutions: you are tired, lots of work, a lot of responsibilities, you want to do another things instead of going to the gym….

But there are tricks that can make your efforts easier. That’s a good point.

Here I have for all you, my pixels, the THP guide on how to keep your NY resolutions:

Be Realistic

The best way is to make realistic resolutions. For instance, starting a too much strict diet can set you up to fail. Instead, strive for learning healthy recipes and introduce them to your daily life can turn into a healthy lifestyle and you will end up losing your extra weight.

 Plan your resolutions and outline this plan.

Think well on the results  you want to reach. It’s better if you write them somewhere. If you need it, make a pros and cons list to keep your motivation strong.

It’s also helpful if you decide how to deal with the temptation of break your resolution (because this is going to happen, my pixels). This can be calling on a friend, positive thinking or reading your pros and cons list.

Talk About It

Don’t keep your resolution a secret. Tell friends and family members who will be there to support your resolve to change yourself for the better or improve your health. This is also another source of motivation. And you always can convince a friend to share your resolutions, like go cycling together, reading the same books or learning a new skill.

Do you want to know my resolutions, my happy pixels? I’m sharing them, so I can have your support and extra motivation 😉 Thank you, my lovely pixels.

  • Improving my photography skills.
  • Do more exercise.
  • I want to write a book.

Not easy… I know. 😉

Reward Yourself

Celebrate your success by treating yourself to something you enjoy that doesn’t contradict your resolution. For example, after finishing a book chapter I can reward myself buying something I like or by going to a movie with a friend.

Track Your Progress

Keep track of each small success. Short-term goals are easier to keep, and each small accomplishment will help keep you motivated. Instead of focusing on writing a whole book, I focus myself on writing the first chapter. Keep a journal to help you stay on track, and reward yourself for each step accomplished.

Note: if you need a calendar to track your progess, why not print this one? Plus: it’s cute and free!!!

 Dont Beat Yourself Up

Obsessing over the occasional slip won’t help you achieve your goal. Do the best you can each day, and take one day at a time.

Stick to It

Experts say it takes about 21 days for a new activity to become a habit and six months for it to become part of your personality. It won’t happen overnight, so be persistent and patient!

 Keep Trying

If you have totally run out of steam when it comes to keeping your resolution by mid-February, don’t despair. Start over again! Recommit yourself for 24 hours. You can do anything for 24 hours. The 24-hour increments will soon build on each other and, before you know it, you will be back on track.

 

I hope this will help you!!!

Do you have any other tips on that subject? Please, let me know in the comments below. You can share your resolutions too, if you want.

 

 

9 thoughts on “My DIY weekend project 14: NY resolutions

  1. Great tips!! They’re definitely good to remember in order keep your goals attainable! One of the things I do is beat myself up and then give up, but I’m focusing on being realistic and accepting any setbacks. 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

