Homemade creamy eggnog

Hey pixels, guess what? Today is the third day of December!!! That means it remains less than a month for Christmas!!! It’s time to celebrate!! 🙂

CIMG0242

Actually, in my town eggnog is not a very firm tradition; this is another way to say very few people drink eggnog here. But it’s a drink I’ve always wanted to try… I made my first eggnog two years ago, and I had to explain all my family what eggnog is. 😦

But now they love eggnog as much as I do, so I want to share with all of you, my lovely pixels, the recipe I always use. I make a non alcoholic version, so all the members of the family can drink it, but of course you can add all the booze you want… it’s up to you, but be careful, please. 🙂

 

Ingredients:

  • 1000 ml.  whole milk
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 can condensed milk (about 370g)
  • 1 1/2 cup whipped cream (more to decorate)
  • cinnamon powder (to decorate)
  • optional: bourbon (the amount you want)

Directions:

CIMG0238

Beat the eggs. Stir in half of the milk.

Cook milk and egg mixture over low heat, stirring constantly, about 15-20 minutes. Be sure not to boil the milk and eggs, otherwise they’ll cook and curdle.

Turn off the heat. Slowly stir in the sweetened condensed milk and the rest of the whole milk. Strain the egg mixture if necessary to remove any unintentional pieces of cooked egg.

Refrigerate this custard for at least 2 hours and up to 3 days.

Add the whipped cream. (If you want, it’s time to add bourbon).

Serve in a mug or a mason jar with more whipped cream on top (sprinkle some cinnamon powder if you want).

 

And that’s all!!! It’s that easy!!! Perfect to drink instead of milk these days, or to serve on Christmas eve, as I do…

And you, my happy pixels? Do you have an  eggnog recipe? How do you make it? Please, let me know in the comments below.

 

3 thoughts on “Homemade creamy eggnog”

Leave a Reply

