White sauce (and a bonus recipe)

Hey pixels, I haven’t had time to post for a couple of days… I’m sorry. But today I bring you a wonderful sauce and a beautiful bonus: a recipe which uses this sauce!!! Wow…

CIMG0212

It’s really useful to know how to make white sauce because you can use it for a lot of diferent recipes: lassagnas, mac and cheese, croquetas, this one… It’s really easy to make at home, and I’m sure your version will be much better than the store bought ones.

I learned how to make white sauce a few years ago, when I made my first lassagna. After a couple of attempts, I made it perfectly. Trust me, my happy pixels, if I can do it, you can do it too 🙂

CIMG0211

And now, at least, here is the recipe:

Ingredients:

  • whole milk (use soy milk if you’re vegan)
  • 5-6 tablespoons flour
  • 240g butter (or vegan butter)
  •  1 teaspoon tomato sauce
  • And if you’re doing the extra recipe: 1 cauliflower, grated mozzarella

Directions:

To make the sauce, follow the next instructions:

Place the butter in a heavy saucepan over medium heat and melt it completely, but do not let it brown. Dump in the flour and stir it quickly into the butter.

Stirr the mixture for 2-3′, then add the milk. There is quite a lot of room for adjustment in the quantity of milk, it depends on how do you want it, looser or thicker). At this point, my mum always adds a teaspoon of tomato sauce, this improves a lot the flavour (in my opinion), but of course, it’s optional 😉

Keep stirring until the sauce has reached the consistency you want (about 5-6′).

And the beautiful bonus:

Preheat the oven at 160ºC

Boil the cauliflower in water with salt and 2 tablespoons olive oil for about 20-25′. Drain it.

Pour a bit of white sauce on a baking pan. The second layer is your boiled cawliflower. Cover it with the remaining sauce and sprinkle the grated mozzarella on top.

Bake for 20-25′.

And you? In which recipes do you use white sauce? Please, let me know in the comments below 🙂

6 thoughts on “White sauce (and a bonus recipe)”

Leave a Reply

