Lemon spongecake

Hey pixels, how are you? Today I’m sharing with all of you this cute recipe from Meri, my grandmother. She used to make this cake when my cousins and I were children, and we all ate it at her house. It was great πŸ™‚ It smells good and it tastes better, it’s wonderful with a glass of milk and it’s really easy to make.

CIMG0185

So now, as an adult, I’ve learned how to make it. It’s really good as a breakfast. I hope you like it. You can also make one for your children or friends πŸ™‚

Ingredients:

CIMG0173

  • 3 eggs
  • 200g sugar (not pictured)
  • 13g baking powder (not pictured)
  • 194g flour
  • 1 lemon yogurt
  • 1/2 cup olive oil (a bit more to grease the mold)
  • to decorate: powder sugar

Directions:

Mix flour and baking powder; set aside.

Beat eggs and sugar. Then, add in the following order: yogurt, oil and, in two times, the mix of flour and baking powder. Mix well before each addition.

CIMG0175

Grease the mold or pan with more olive oil. Pour the lemon mixture on it and wait 5′. This is a trick that my granny explained to me, but she didn’t explained me properly why she does it; I think it’s something about the baking powder, but I’m not sure.

Bake for 25′, but turn off the oven at minute 20; this is another trick from Meri.

Allow to cool and decorate with the powder sugar.

Variation: you can change the flavour using another kind of yogurt: I’ve tried strawberry and coconut too. Oh, and it’s great too if you use a plain yogurt mixed with 2 tablespoons of cocoa powder…

3 thoughts on “Lemon spongecake

Leave a Reply

