My DIY weekend project 7: how to draw a floor plan

Hey pixels, I’m planning to redecorate my own bedroom, so I’m going to post all the changes I make on it for you. This is going to be my first big DIY project (and I’m very excited about it) πŸ˜‰

Actually it’s only a redecoration project with a low budget, so I’m not going to buy a lot of new furniture, only the essential ones, and reutilisation is an important part of the plan. But there are still a lot of things I can change here. I hope you like it.

But let’s start from the beggining: drawing a floor plan (because thinking how to distribute your stuff is easier when you can see it on a paper). Relax, my pixels, it’s easier than you may think, I promise. Here is how you can do it at home:

First of all, take your measurements (it’s better if another person helps you, trust me). When you know exactly how big is everything, it’s time to draw. Don’t forget to include windows and doors.

CIMG0167

Indicate where all permanent switches, outlets, controls, TV cable, and phone lines are located.Β These factors all influence furniture placement.

Transfer measurements to graph paper. Use the scale that suits better to you, the most important point is you should be able to visualize how the future organization is going to be.

Well, now you have a map of your room’s floor. You’re ready to fill your space with furniture!! Just take measurements of your furniture (or use the measuremenets available on the furniture catalogue if you haven’t purchased yet). Transfer them to the graph paper and cut them out.

CIMG0169

Once you have them, it’s like a game. You can try every furniture combination you want on the map, until you have the one that fits best to your space. It’s like playing Tetris… πŸ˜‰

If things aren’t working out, you might decide that the furniture you were considering might not be right for your home. Or maybe the space you’re considering renting or buying isn’t right for your needs. But don’t worry, you can always change your mind and try with diferent furniture, or keep looking for the house of your dreams…

In my case, I found, after a few rearrengements, that the best combination is this:

CIMG0172

So this is the plan. During the next weeks I’m going to detail every step I’ll be taking. I can’t wait to see the final result, and you?

Are you changing anything in your homes, my lovely pixels? Please, let us know in the comments below.

4 thoughts on “My DIY weekend project 7: how to draw a floor plan

  1. Wow, you are well prepared. We are doing DIY and just jumped right in. Now when we switch on the new bathroom light, the hallway light comes on and the bedroom light goes off. We need your planning!

    Like

  2. I want to redecorate my living spaces. You should buy one of my throw pillows or a simple print for your room. Art always brightens up a space.

    Like

Leave a Reply

